24 members of 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square are to Join 39 Essex Chambers

24 members of 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square are to Join 39 Essex Chambers


24 members of 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square are to Join 39 Essex Chambers, including 7 QC’s.

This powerful union will take the number of barristers at 39 Essex Chambers to 118 with 37 QC’s. It will deepen 39 Essex Chambers’ existing strength in core areas such as public and administrative law, environmental and planning law, common law, commercial and regulatory law, as well as its other areas. This dynamic amalgamation and consolidation of expertise will create one of the UK’s largest multi-disciplinary specialist sets.

The set will also now have 16 members who sit on the Attorney General’s Panel, including 3 on the A Panel.

39 Essex Chambers’ Chief Executive and Director of Clerking, David Barnes, says:

“Enlarging our operations and bringing together this group of barristers, who have phenomenal experience and reputation in core areas of chambers, means that 39 Essex Chambers can offer clients an unrivalled service across one of the widest legal practice portfolios in the country. This union, along with the launch of a new office in Singapore, is part of an ongoing strategy of growth for 39 Essex Chambers. It is an extremely exciting time for Chambers.”

The consolidation with the new members is the culmination of a hugely successful year both fo r39 Essex Chambers and the members of 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square. 39 Essex Chambers was recently awarded ‘Chambers of the Year’ at the British Legal Awards 2012 and Robert Jay QC, Joint Head of Chambers, was named ‘Barrister of the Year’ at The Lawyer Awards 2012.

At the Chambers Bar Awards in October, the set picked up an array of awards both for individuals and practice areas. Two of the members of 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square who will be joining 39 Essex Chambers were also successful, with Hodge Malek QC named Professional Discipline Silk of the Year and Peter Village QC named Planning and Environment Silk of the Year. John Steel QC has also been awarded UK Aviation QC of the Year by the 2012 Acquisition International Legal Awards.

In addition, Lord John Dyson, a former Head of Chambers at 39 Essex Chambers, was appointed Master of the Rolls on 1st October this year.

For more information about 39 Essex Chambers visit www.39essex.com.

Those members joining 39 Essex Chambers from 4-5 Gray’s Inn Square are:

  • Brian Ash QC
  • John Steel QC
  • Hodge Malek QC
  • Peter Village QC
  • Timothy Lyons QC
  • Thomas Hill QC
  • Paul Stinchcombe QC
  • James Ramsden
  • Andrew Tabachnik
  • Damian Falkowski
  • James Strachan
  • Jonathan Auburn
  • Anna Bicarregui
  • Mungo Wenban-Smith
  • Michelle Pratley
  • Jack Anderson
  • Thomas Amraoui
  • Ned Helme
  • Jennifer Thelen
  • Philippa Jackson
  • BenTankel
  • Annabel Lee
  • James Potts
  • Yash Bheeroo

The members of Thirty Nine Essex Street possess a wide range of expertise, both as advocates and advisers, across commercial law, common law, construction law, costs law, environmental and planning law, energy law, public and administrative law and regulatory and disciplinary law.

Legal updates

Subscribe to our newsletters, updates and seminars.


Call +44 (0)20 7832 1111 for more information

Barrister portfolio


Click the + icon next to any barrister to add their profile to this portfolio.

Barrister Call CV Email